The Winners 2012/2013

The Winners 2012/2013


After much anticipation and a great deal of excitement, the winners of the twelve categories in the Carlsberg UK Northamptonshire Food and Drink Awards 2012/13 are finally celebrating being named the best of the county’s best!


The competition, devised by Northamptonshire Enterprise Partnership (NEP), is now in its fourth year and is again aimed at celebrating all that is great about local produce and drink, recognising excellence within the county’s dining venues and rewarding those who work so hard within the culinary sector.


The results were announced at a glittering Awards Dinner (Weds 14th Nov) sponsored by Electrolux and staged at The Wing, Silverstone courtesy of Silverstone Circuits Ltd. Those were (in order of presentation):


Northamptonshire Jubilee Breakfast: (results announced in June)


Winner: The Church Restaurant, Northampton

Runner-up: Oundle Mill, Oundle


Artisan Local Product/Drink of the Year:


Winner: Home Cured Bacon – Sauls of Spratton, Spratton

Runner-up: Fire Bellied Toad – Frog Island Brewery, Northampton


New Local Product of the Year:


Winner: The Hot Runner – The Pickled Village, Bulwick

Runner-up: Fruity Apple and Plum Chutney – The Village Orchard, Flore


New Local Drink of the Year:


Winner: Golden Russet Apple Juice – The Village Orchard, Flore

Runners-up: Hart No. 1 (4.1%) – Hart Family Brewers, Wellingborough and Hop Trotter – Potbelly Brewery, Kettering


Local Food Hero of the Year:


Winner: Gerald Bailey of Newlands Farm, Hannington

Runners-up: Pudding Pie Cookery School, Middleton Cheney and Seven Wells Butchers, Oundle


Spice Chef of the Year:


Winner: Bodrul Islam – Saffron, Northampton

Runner-up: Hao Dang – Dang’s, Northampton


Young Chef of the Year:


Winner: William Mountain – The Saracen’s Head, Little Brington

Runner-up: Viktorija Bernataviciute – The Wig and Pen, Northampton


Booker Chef of the Year:


Winner: James Ingram – Mercedes Benz AMG, Brixworth

Runner-up: Liam Goodwill – Rushton Hall, Rushton


Restaurant of the Year:


Winner: The Exeter Arms, Easton on the Hill

Runners-up: Oundle Mill, Oundle and

The Seafood Café, Northampton


Pub or Bar Restaurant of the Year:


Winner: The Saracen’s Head, Little Brington

Runner-up: The Royal Oak @ Eydon, Eydon


Community Pub of the Year – Town:


Winner: The Swan and Helmet, Northampton

Runner-up: The Lamplighter, Northampton


Community Pub of the Year – Rural:


Winner: The George, Tiffield

Runner-up: The Stag’s Head, Great Doddington


In addition, three chefs were also ‘Commended’ in their category – those being:


Ondine Hartgroves of Dîner Privé Par Ondine, Northampton in the Spice Chef category


Ollie Jaycock of The Red Lion, Culworth in the Young Chef category


Oli Butel of Frank’s Steakhouse, Northampton in the Booker Chef category.


So the night brought double celebrations for Duncan and Sarah Evans of The Saracen’s Head in Little Brington who not only watched their head chef, William Mountain, pick up the ‘Young Chef of the Year’ award but also took the ‘Pub or Bar Restaurant of the Year’ title. “We were already so delighted that Will had won earlier in the evening, but then to hear the venue’s name called out as well was just the icing on the cake,” explained Sarah after the results were announced by Jeff Whitaker of category sponsors Whitco, the specialist catering equipment firm based in Thrapston. “The whole team put their heart and soul into everything that they do and this is real recognition of their wonderful efforts. We are all just chuffed to bits!”


Meanwhile Jonathan Chaplin of The Village Orchard in Flore also came away with two accolades after his Fruity Apple and Plum Chutney was named runner-up in the ‘New Local Product of the Year’ category, only for his Golden Russet Apple Juice to go one better in the ‘New Local Drink of the Year’ category. “We are always so wonderfully surprised and of course thrilled to pick up any award so to come away with a second and a first is fantastic!” enthused Jonathan after hearing the results from David Brown of Beckworth Emporium, the category sponsor. “It’s all the more pleasing that these are two of our newer products and we’ll be displaying our certificates and our winner’s trophy with great pride!”


Those trophies – beautifully handcrafted in polished stainless steel by Sandwell UK, the shot peening and metal coating specialists based in Towcester – were presented by a selection of this year’s Award judges, including editor and food writer William Sitwell, TV chef Sophie Grigson  and the co-founder of ‘Ready Steady Cook’, Steven Saunders from Aspire Hospitality.


It was his Executive Chef, Lee Scott, who prepared a wonderful three course menu for the 350 guests including entrants, judges, sponsors, media partners and supporters. They were treated to a starter of potted Pitsford trout, a trio of pork from Spinney Barns in Irchester served with apples from New Creation Farm in Nether Heyford which had been caramelized in honey provided by the Northamptonshire Beekeepers’ Association, followed by treacle tart using bread from the Northampton bakery FF Tee and served with dairy vanilla ice cream from Rossi’s Ice Cream in Kettering.


Guests were welcomed to the event by the competition’s co-ordinator, Rachel Mallows of The Mallows Company and later in the evening, NEP’s Chairman Paul Southworth thanked them for their support. “As the organisation behind these awards we are delighted that this competition is playing such a valuable role in this increasingly successful sector for the county.


“Last year, that was worth £1.5 billion to our local economy and Northamptonshire should quite rightly feel mightily proud of its many nationally-recognised producers, venues and chefs being celebrated tonight,” he added.


Meanwhile, if you are an organisation, business or individual interested in taking part in, or supporting, next year’s Awards, please contact Rachel at The Mallows Company on 01933 664437.



Weetabix Northamptonshire Food and Drink Awards

The Mallows Company (07103621)

A Celebration and Recognition of Excellence within

Northamptonshire's Food and Drink Sector

The Winners 2012/2013

Weetabix Northamptonshire

Food and Drink Awards

The Mallows Company (07103621)

A Celebration and Recognition of Excellence within

Northamptonshire's Food and Drink Sector